Yevgen Bilevych, Pascal Bos, Martin van Beuzekom, Klaus Desch, Jean-Paul Fransen, Harry van der Graaf, Markus Gruber, Fred Hartjes, Bas van der Heijden, Kevin Heijhof, Charles Ietswaard, Dimitri John, Jochen Kaminski, Peter Kluit, Ruud Kluit, Naomi van der Kolk, Auke Korporaal, Cornelis Ligtenberg, Oscar van Petten, Gerhard Raven, Joop Rövekamp, Lucian Scharenberg, Tobias Schiffer, Sebastian Schmidt, Jan Timmermans, Patrick Werneke





Universität Bonr



Institut







Yevgen Bilevych, Pascal Bos, Martin van Beuzekom, Klaus Desch, Jean-Paul Fransen, Harry van der Graaf, Markus Gruber, Fred Hartjes, Bas van der Heijden, Kevin Heijhof, Charles Ietswaard, Dimitri John, Jochen Kaminski, Peter Kluit, Ruud Kluit, Naomi van der Kolk, Auke Korporaal, Cornelis Ligtenberg, Oscar van Petten, Gerhard Raven, Joop Rövekamp, Lucian Scharenberg, Tobias Schiffer, Sebastian Schmidt, Jan Timmermans, Patrick Werneke





Universität Bonr



Institut







ILC

- e+e- collider with polarized beams
- First stage: 250 GeV Higgs factory; extendable to >500 GeV





PHYSICS @ ILC



PHYSICS @ ILC & ILD





 $e^+e^- \to H(\to b\overline{b}) Z(\to q\overline{q}) @\sqrt{s} = 250 \text{GeV}$



PHYSICS @ ILC & ILD













1:1 10mm 20





$\mathsf{TIMEPIX3} + \mathsf{GRID} = \mathsf{GRIDPIX}$



TimePix3:

wider i demi comi de fantamente con

- 256 x 256 pixels
- 55 x 55 μ m² pitch
- 14.1 x 14.1 mm² sensitive area

TRAINING STATE

and the first of the second second



$\mathsf{TIMEPIX3} + \mathsf{GRID} = \mathsf{GRIDPIX}$



Wafer post-processing at IZM Berlin

Aluminium grid (1 µm thick)

ninininininininininininininininini

- 35 µm wide holes, 55 µm pitch
- Supported by SU8 pillars 50 µm high

iin.

and entered attaining allott of .

SINGLE CHIP TESTBEAM 2017

- Kees' talk @ last year's jamboree





SINGLE CHIP TESTBEAM 2017

- Kees' talk @ last year's jamboree
- https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nima.2018.08.012

Single hit resolution in pixel plane



Single Hit resolution depends on:

- σ_{y0} = pixel size $/\sqrt{12}$
- Diffusion D_T from fit

A hit resolution of ~240 μ m is ~24 μ m for a 100-hit track (~ 1 cm track length)



Deformations in pixel plane



Residuals are filled at expected row and column RMS of deviations is 8 μ m, enough to meet TPC requirements

Nikhef 12/16

SCALING TO LARGE AREAS: QUAD

- 4 TimePix3 chips
- Services (signal IO, LV power) located underneath detection surface
- SPIDR readout
- Detection surface
 extendable by adding
 QUADs on 4 sides
 - No limit on detection area





SCALING TO LARGE AREAS: QUAD

- 4 TimePix3 chips
- Services (signal IO, LV) power) located underneath detection surface
- SPIDR readout
- Detection surface extendable by adding QUADs on 4 sides
 - No limit on detection area





SINGLE QUAD TESTBEAM, OCT 2018

- Bonn ELSA: 2.5 GeV electrons
- QUAD sandwiched between Mimosa telescope halves
 - improved track definition
- ► Gas: Ar/CF₄/iC₄H₁₀ 95/3/2 (aka. "T2K" gas)
- $E_d = 280 \text{ V/cm}, V_{qrid} = -300 \text{ V}$
- Typical beam height above the chip: ~ 1 cm











QUAD EDGE DEFORMATIONS PRELIMINARY! Due to inequi

Due to inactive, grounded zone between chips





QUAD EDGE DEFORMATIONS PRELIMINARY! Due to inc. ...

- Due to inactive, grounded zone between chips
- Correct "in software" or by addition of guard electrode







PRELIMIARY



Alignment (for now) assumes single rigid object

After applying fitted edge corrections: residuals << 100 μm





SCALING UP...

- mounting frame with cooling channels
- 4 quads =>
 single SPIDR
 readout board
 (in progress)



SCALING UP! cuarteeurotes not vet installed





PERFORMANCE OF GRIDPIX TPC @ ILC

- From DD4HEP (Geant4) simulation
- Momentum resolution: at least 1.2x improvement (assuming 59% gridpix coverage)
- dE/dx resolution: ~2x improvement





IN THE MEANTIME, IN JAPAN...



Iwate Nippon – Dec 8th

IN THE MEANTIME, IN JAPAN...

TIMELINE
December 7th – The Science Council of Japan (SCJ) begins reviewing the draft from the ILC
Committee
December 19th – SCJ Board of Directors meeting
-2019January 31st – SCJ Board of Directors meeting
February 28th – SCJ Board of Directors meeting
(Sometime within January-February, the national government will make its intentions clear?)

(Sometime within January-February, the national government will make its intentions clear?) March 7th – Meeting held in Tokyo by International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA) and the Linear Collider Board (LCB) (→this is the final deadline)

The Federation of Diet Members for the ILC (FDMILC; chair: Hon. Takeo Kawamura of the House of Representatives, 130 members) held their general assembly within the Diet on December 7th. The international organization of scientists had called on the government to make their intentions clear by the end of 2018, but announced at this meeting that they would extend their final deadline to March 7th, 2019.

This was also a joint meeting with the Liberal Democratic Party's ILC Liaison Council, and 25 Diet members were in attendance. Lyn Evans (director of the Linear Collider Collaboration (LCC) leading the ILC project) and Hitoshi Murayama (deputy director of the LCC and professor at USC Berkeley) were also in attendance.



Iwate Nippon – Dec 8th

AND STAY

THANK YOU!

Yevgen Bilevych, Pascal Bos, Martin van Beuzekom, Klaus Desch, Jean-Paul Fransen, Harry van der Graaf, Markus Gruber, Fred Hartjes, Bas van der Heijden, Kevin Heijhof, Charles Ietswaard, Dimitri John, Jochen Kaminski, Peter Kluit, Ruud Kluit, Naomi van der Kolk, Auke Korporaal, Cornelis Ligtenberg, Oscar van Petten, Gerhard Raven, Joop Rövekamp, Lucian Scharenberg, Tobias Schiffer, Sebastian Schmidt, Jan Timmermans, Patrick Werneke

Physikalisches Institut

THANK YOU!

Yevgen Bilevych, Pascal Bos, Martin van Beuzekom, Klaus Desch, Jean-Paul Fransen, Harry van der Graaf, Markus Gruber, Fred Hartjes, Bas van der Heijden, Kevin Heijhof, Charles Ietswaard, Dimitri John, Jochen Kaminski, Peter Kluit, Ruud Kluit, Naomi van der Kolk, Auke Korporaal, Cornelis Ligtenberg, Oscar van Petten, Gerhard Raven, Joop Rövekamp, Lucian Scharenberg, Tobias Schiffer, Sebastian Schmidt, Jan Timmermans, Patrick Werneke

Physikalisches Institut

Rheinische

"The expert" and "the newcomer"

THANK YOU!

Yevgen Bilevych, Pascal Bos, Martin van Beuzekom, Klaus Desch, Jean-Paul Fransen, Harry van der Graaf, Markus Gruber, Fred Hartjes, Bas van der Heijden, Kevin Heijhof, Charles Ietswaard, Dimitri John, Jochen Kaminski, Peter Kluit, Ruud Kluit, Naomi van der Kolk, Auke Korporaal, Cornelis Ligtenberg, Oscar van Petten, Gerhard Raven, Joop Rövekamp, Lucian Scharenberg, Tobias Schiffer, Sebastian Schmidt, Jan Timmermans, Patrick Werneke

Rheinische

"Experience" and "Youth"

